Marguerite of Austria: Following the Footsteps


Blue:  in current use
Purple:  later replacement
Green:  ruins
Grey:  no trace

The map gives the names of the provinces as they were during Marguerite's life-time. Many have changed - for example, Lille and Cambrai are now in France, and Aachen is in Germany.

1. Cathedral of St Michel et Ste Gudule, Brussels
2. Chateau of Amboise, France
3. Palace of Marguerite of Austria (Hof van Savoye), Mechelen/Malines, Flanders
4. Port of Vlissingen (Flushing), Zeeland
5. Port of Southampton, England
6. Cathedral of Santa Maria, Burgos, Castile
7. Salamanca, Castile
8. Geneva
9. Royal Monastery of Brou, Bourg-en-Bresse
10. Town Hall, Louvain/Leuven, Brabant
11. Rihour Palace, Lille, Flanders
12. Gravelines/Grevelingen
13. Maastricht, Limburg
14. Aachen/Aix-la-Chapelle, Imperial city state
15. Cambrai, Cambresis

Marguerite travelled throughout the Low Countries, but also to France, and on a traumatic sea-voyage to Spain, when she nearly drowned. She also travelled for diplomatic purposes.     

Read more about places associated with Marguerite of Austria here

Marguerite of Austria

Marguerite of Austria

Family Tree